Bible Study – Hebrews 11:1 – Is Faith Evidence?

Heb. 11:1 reads: Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen. KJV

Question: How can FAITH be EVIDENCE?

It seems to me that faith is exactly the opposite of evidence. If one has faith, he believes in something that can’t be seen or experienced by any of the 5 senses we have use of. Evidence is something that one can see, touch, smell, hear or taste that is said to PROVE the existence of something else.

Personally, I do not think the Bible is complete and though I do believe men who were led of God compiled its books, I also believe that those men made some errors. Then, to top it all off, more men made more errors in translating. I use the King James Version of the Bible because I like its poetic nature. You will notice that newer versions, like NIV have changed the wording of passages like Hebrews 11:1 to not include the word ‘evidence’.

The NIV says, “Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.”

That makes way more sense but it has changed the original meaning. Perhaps the compilers of the NIV saw the error in the KJV and fixed it. Faith certainly is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we can’t see, but just because we have faith isn’t ‘evidence’ that the things we hope for and believe in are true. If we could provide evidence that these things are true, we would not need faith to believe them!

What do you think? I know some people who believe that the Vancouver Canucks are going to take the Stanley Cup in 2010 (silly buggers) however, is their faith evidence that the Canucks will win the cup?

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Bible Study – Hebrews 11:1 – Is Faith Evidence?”

  1. Michael Says:

    Bill Bill Bill, faith that the Canucks would take the cup doesn’t even qualify as a hope. Besides the faith that we have in and through God is something quite different — isn’t our faith in God the evidence of Him and His sacrifice at Calvary subsequently the substance of things hoped for ???? I find that many of these arguments are framed from and around human perspectives leaning on the weakness of human emotions and reasoning. Believe Bill just believe.

    • insightswithbillyvee Says:

      I do believe! But that is not evidence of faith for anyone else…it may be evidence that I have faith but it’s not evidence of faith. It’s a complicated thought, I know…It’s like I don’t think you understand what I think I don’t understand and I’m not even sure that I think I understand what understanding is but maybe I do and just don’t understand it…or maybe you don’t understand what you think you don’t understand so maybe you do and I don’t…or maybe I do!

Leave a Reply

